Grand of Distinction: A New Title In CFA

Ristokat Himalayans & Persians

Published July 2013

Photos copyrighted by the individual photographers
Article copyright © All Rights Reserved.
Copying or redistribution of this article is strictly prohibited
without the express written permission of

In 2011, after several years of committee discussion and revision, a new title was added in CFA called the "Grand of Distinction".

The new title is covered in Show Rule 9.07, which says:

Any cat that achieves 30 or more top 10/top 15 finals per season in three separate seasons shall be eligible to claim the “Grand of Distinction” title (abbreviated GCD or GPD). At least 20 of these finals in each season must be in Allbreed rings. These finals may be achieved in either championship or premiership class, or a combination, in each season. The “of distinction” suffix will be added to the title corresponding to the class in which the cat competed in the third season with 30 finals. Cats who have achieved this title will still compete in the regular Grand Champion/Grand Premier classes.

This award may be claimed by filing the appropriate form with Central Office, and paying a fee as set by the Board of Directors. Show seasons prior to 2011-2012 may not be considered in claims for this title.

The intent of the award was to give people a reason to continue showing their cats—a goal to work towards after the cat has earned its Grand Champion/Grand Premier award BUT without having to campaign for a Regional Win.

The 30 finals each season must include 20 Allbreed finals... but those are really the only requirements. There is no minimum placement required and no minimum points. The finals can be won at shows in ANY region, over any seasons - and the seasons do NOT have to be consecutive, although each season can only be counted once.

Once the cat has earned its Grand Champion or Grand Premier title, any finals it is awarded count towards the new title. Obviously kitten finals would not count towards the Grand of Distinction title.

Once you have reached this milestone, you will need to file a claim form with CFA, and pay the $15.00 fee. Once the title has been confirmed with CFA, your cat will have a "D" added to their title—it will be added to the whichever "grand" your cat is during that 3rd qualifying season.

If the cat receives the 30 finals for each of 3 years, while still a Grand Champion, its new title will be GCD Prince Fluffy Pants.

If your cat competes for 1 or 2 seasons as a Grand Champion, then later returns to the show hall and completes the remaining qualifying season(s) as a Grand Premier, its new title will be GC, GPD Slinky Long-Legs.

The First Grand Of Distinction

The first season that counted towards the Grand of Distinction award was the 2011-2012 show season, so the 2013-2014 show season is the first time that cats could qualify for the new title.

On July 6, 2013, CFA history was made by the Exotic Shorthair neuter GC, GPD, NW Ivy Cat Quarterback owned by Jan Chambers and bred by Pam DeGolyer when he became the first cat to earn the new title.

Photo by L. Johnson
GC, GPD, NW Ivy Cat Quarterback, CFA's first Grand of Distinction

On July 27, GPD, RW Ragtime Cats Dazzling Autumn, a tortoiseshell and white RagaMuffin spay, became the second cat and the first female to earn the new title.

The first week of August, calico Sphynx, GPD, RW Beeblebrox Blairyummy Witcherryatop, became the third cat to earn the new title.

On August 10th, 2013, GPD, RW Tirion's Ros An Fhomhair, a Shorthair Manx, added the new title to his name.

In the next months, more cats will add this new title to their names. Congratulations to all!

Back :: Top :: Home



Legal Disclaimer | Report A Broken Link or Typo

Website created & maintained by
ShowCatsOnline Web Design